Passion vs Vision

Photographs have become an universal language. We all have numerous images within our reach. I personally have over 3000 images on my phone, some dating back to 2010.

I capture because I feel compelled to and I keep picking up my camera because I find peace and it is my way of seeing what’s around. Although I keep creating, I can’t tell you that it had been easy. It has been an experience full of learning, doubts and trials. However there are two things that keep driving me – passion and vision.

Passion is described as a strong and barely controllable emotion. Passion ranges from eager interest in or administration for an idea, proposal or cause to enthusiastic enjoyment of an interest or activity.

Personally, photography is more than passion. It is the sense of peace that I feel each time I am behind my camera. All worries, doubts and anxiety simply melt away.

The most rewarding part of the photographic process is when you find a project that we feel passionate about. By finding meaning and purpose in the picture taking process is how we learn about ourselves while elevating your personal photographic vision.

As the majority of my images are fine art, I have come to find that it had a different goal. Instead of aiming at representing the subject in a literal fashion as it is seen by most people. Fine art photography aims at representing the subject as it appears in their mind’s eye.

Vision is seeing what others do not see. Vision is also seeing something that starts in the mind, at the crossroads of what we see physically and what we imagine. It may be generated by a subject or simply and emotion. Vision caused us to look deeply for a specific subject that we want to photograph.

‘With vision we are able create unique images. With passion comes an excitement that drives me’ – Thompson

4 Comments Add yours

  1. paula graham says:

    Only behind my camera can I lose myself, and hours go unnoticed!

    1. pammyv02 says:

      The feeling that we both share and I am currently missing

  2. Your musings have been a nice and inspiring read.

Leave a comment