The thing about critics…..

I once received a comment about my images, suggesting that perhaps I should consider making them brighter, as they appeared too dark to the viewer’s eye. It’s not the first time I’ve heard such feedback, and it likely won’t be the last. The question arises: have I ever contemplated heeding this advice? The answer is a simple yes. But do I actually make my images brighter in response? No.

Why? It boils down to a lesson I’ve learned along the way: taking criticism with a grain of salt. Before internalizing any critique, it’s crucial to assess two key factors: does the critic possess a deep understanding of the subject matter, and do they genuinely comprehend my artistic intent?

In this particular instance, the individual offering their opinion seemed disconnected from both. Their feedback lacked insight into the nuances of my work, and they failed to grasp the essence I aim to capture in my photography. It’s not to suggest that every critic must be intimately involved in the art form they’re assessing, but a basic level of understanding and appreciation certainly helps. After all, we’ve all encountered art critics whose expertise enriches our understanding of a piece.

For me, photography transcends mere representation. My images aren’t meant to faithfully mirror reality; instead, they distill the essence of my experiences and observations. Long ago, I made a pact with myself: to create primarily for my own satisfaction, rather than pandering to external expectations. So, when you stumble upon a photograph of mine that diverges from the familiar, don’t be alarmed. I’m simply navigating my experimental phase, reveling in the freedom to challenge and redefine conventional norms.

In the meantime, here’s another ‘dark’ image from my collection. As the weekend beckons, I extend warm wishes to all, inviting you to embrace the diversity and idiosyncrasies that enrich our creative journeys.

Arrow © Pamela Aminou

Leave a comment