Creativity takes work

When I first started on this journey, I didn’t know what I was getting myself into. I tried every type of photography, copied emulated until my black and white photography found me.

Even though I found myself in black and white photography, I was still unsettled. I needed more and I wanted more. Through a lot of research, I came across the work of many photographers and the ones that stayed with me were Michael Levin, Joel Tjintjelaar and Julia Anna Gospodarou and so much more. What stood out for me were the way the subject were portrayed. The way the viewer is drawn into the image. With each of these photographers work, each image draws you in and holds your gaze each time. I knew this is what I needed in my work but how do I achieve this?

I wasn’t any good at photoshop and I also hated sitting down to edit. Well, only one way to solve this is by doing the work. Learn to be a proficient user at photoshop, learn to tell a story with my image and most importantly work toward getting a style of my own.

Saying that the journey wasn’t hard and took me a lot of hours and most of all, a lot of patients. The best way for me to learn was to be thrown into the deep end.

Unity by Pamela Aminou
Unity by Pamela Aminou

The above image is the first one that I took on. It took me over a month to complete. Why? Before starting I had no idea how to make a selection or what the pen tool was. Well I had to learn. I had a lot of help from Julia for helping through this. When I started, I really did not know what I was going for nor that I visualised the final work. I had to ask myself what made me take this image at this particular angle. It reminded of people coming together hence the name UNITY.

There were quite a few things that learned in the short space of time but when you have your mind set on certain you just don’t stop.

From there, I took on one of the most complex images ever. Below you will find the starting image.After applying literally everything I’ve learned, I started to create more and more images. I concentrated on simple lines. I started to crave an little more. So to challenge myself, I started to work on more complicated images.

The first one being below which took me about a month to complete but bare in mind that I was just starting.

image

This brings me to the image that I’ve just completed. Here is the starting image.

Starting image

After 103 layers, here is the final image.

DX8A4341 copy

All in all, creativity takes work, how much is up to you.

3 thoughts on “Creativity takes work

  1. 103 layers! Wow – that’s a lot of work! I’d end up losing myself 🙂
    When you took the image did you know exactly what you wanted to achieve or did it develop from an initial concept as you parked on it? Hope you don’t mind me asking …

    1. Hi Noeline, Thank you for the comment. I had the image in mind for a few months before I actually took the image. Sometimes it happens but sometimes I take the image and I would have no idea what to do. In those instances, I just forget about them. The 2 images that I’m currently working in fact, I took them 2 years ago. 🙂

      1. I revisit old photographs sometimes that I thought had ‘something’ at the time but I hadn’t been able to realise. It’s very satisfying to go back after a period of time with more developed thoughts and improved skills and find the ‘something’ that I hadn’t been able to drag out before.

Leave a Reply

