The beauty of difference

Just like many photographers, I have an Instagram account and I check my feed more often than I care to admit. More often I find that I get bored with what I see.

Just like many social media networks out there, you can find great and inspiring photographers. However, I tend to see the same things over and over again. How many of us have seen legs dangling on a ledge of some kind? No matter how much I refresh it seems to be pretty much the same. Is it me or just the algorithm that is set that way?

The beauty about photography is that it can be a way to express yourself. Another way of sharing part of you with people. Since we are all different and have different experiences, what better way to share who we are?

I’ve always felt like an outsider, I never really fitted anywhere but I’ve come to realise is that it’s that difference that sets me apart. The same goes with my work. I could have been very happy with my earlier work because of what I’ve been told. But I wanted to create something that reflected who I am and what I feel. So I set out to learn how to do exactly that. By no mean that I think that I’m already where I want to be but then again, we are hardest on ourselves. After all, photography is a life training no matter where you are in your career.

6 thoughts on “The beauty of difference

  1. Very well said – there is no point regurgitating what has already been done a thousand times.

    Hmmm – I’ve been wondering about starting an Instagram account. Overall, do you think it’s worth doing or not?

      1. Thank you … looks as though I may have to get smart phone so I can use it! Apparently there are some work arounds but none seem to stand out as the one to go for. 😦

      2. There are too many options out there and I tend to stick with what works best for me. Spend the day trying various models and you will find the one that’s for you. It’s a bit like trying shoes 🙂

Leave a Reply

