Is it necessary to create meaningful images?

The most important thing for me at the moment is creating images that are meaningful and powerful first for myself and then hopefully to someone that sees it.

Photography after all is a tool of verbal non-communication that allows us to raise questions, create mystery or doubts in the viewer and most of all to transmit a message.

Creating something meaningful is not just about pointing the camera and pressing the shutter. They are quite a few things that are involved. First our choice of subject, our interest and our vision.It is the only way to free up our creativity. It is important to immerse oneself in the scene around us and document what we are feeling.

If the subject or place I am at does not evoque any feelings in me, there is no way that I am able to capture or produce any images with meaning. When I started this journey, my aim has always been to learn to express myself.

If we think about it clearly, they are many sides and aspect to it. Photography is part science, part art, part technical, part creative, part thinking, part form, part space. If you only develop one side of this, then your work will never tell the story or resonate like you wish. It is easy to concentrate on developing on technique rather than the creative perspective and on thinking rather than feeling. We all have that part of us that gets moved by beautiful and inspiring stories and imagery.

For this reasons, I continue to work on my personal series as they mean a lot personally and I hope someone else also take some meaning from it.

Wishing you all a good evening!!

Shadows_Pamela-Aminou_Lime-Street_England

 

4 thoughts on “Is it necessary to create meaningful images?

  1. For me, photography is a form of self expression and meditation; I become totally immersed in the moment – whatever the subject. The process is always rewarding and if I get a decent result that means something to me that’s enough really – if it means something to other people that’s a welcome bonus.
    Great picture – and if that’s part of your personal project it does something for me too! 🙂

    1. Thank you!! It is my first series and it truly means a lot to me and I am really glad that it speaks to you too.

      I completely identify my the feeling of meditation. It is my happy place. Thank you for the comment.

  2. Beautiful use of contrast. There’s a lot more to photography than people think. It’s nice to see someone expressing the personal side of their work and what it means to them. Great post! ❤

Leave a Reply

