Making and Creating Magic

In this day and age, it is so easy for us to be more concerned about the gear we need, what new we should buy, what new camera is coming out next that we forget why we started taking photographs.

Just like many others out there, I thought that I was not creative and that I  could never be either. I went to museums and galleries, I saw paintings, I knew about artists and photographers and their work but I never thought to myself that I would once take this path.

Things changed when I picked up my first camera. It was a feeling that I never had experienced. It was excitement mixed in with fear. Excitement of creating something for myself, excitement to learn something new. Fear was for the unknown and the feeling of being out of my depth kept pushing me forward and to continue.

Don’t get me wrong, I’ve taken some really bad images that still makes me cringes even today  but it is a process. Taking the bad to eventually learn to know what is good.

Don’t get me wrong, I still take lots of and photographs and sometimes it is still trial and error until I take what is good for me and suits my vision. I’ve been known to go to the same location up to three times just so that I end up with just one for my collection.

As you grow, your art gets refined and you become more strict about the images that you takes. This can be a good and bad thing.

However, let me say that there is nothing worse than picking and choosing who’s a photographer an who is not. I am still comfortable being called an amateur because the title does does not define who I am, the quality or vision for my work. I am still learning and I will continue to learn as I thrive on it and there’s absolutely nothing wrong with that.

Photography is about creating magic and my aim whenever I pick up my camera is to show that there is magic still left in our world.

 

Leave a Reply

