Items I’d like to add to my kit

Hope everyone had a good week so far.
I’ve been searching for an all purpose lens for a while. As you may know, I am one of those people that  will do with whatever lens on hand. But I’ve been looking for an all purpose for a while. However, the prices were not very attractive but I knew sooner or later I will have to invest in one.
After reading countless reviews here are the lenses I’ve come across that I may get at the moment

Nikon AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II Lens

This lens is currently on Amazon for 559.99 pounds

Key Features

  • A zoom lens offering a high zoom ratio with magnification of 11.1x
  • Focal Length: 18-200mm
  • Maximum Aperture: f/3.5-5.6
  • Minimum Aperture: f/22-32
  •  
  • E quipped with a zoom lock switch
  • E quipped with a compact Silent Wave Motor (SWM)
  • Built-in Vibration Reduction (VR II)
  • Two focus modes available – M/A (manual-priority autofocus) and M (manual focus)
More information available here.
The Second Option

AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-300mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR currently available on Amazon for 700.00 pounds

Key Features

  • DX format 16.7x zoom lens with versatile 18-300mm focal length
  • Maximum Aperture: f/3.5-5.6
  • Minimum Aperture: f/22-32
  • Maximum focus distance: 300 mm focal length: 0.45 m (1.48 ft) from focal plane
  • Vibration Reduction II (VR II) stabilization system enables more flexible hand-held shooting and lets you use shutter speeds that are up to 4 stops slower.
  • Maximum aperture of f/5.6 at the telephoto end of the range.
  • Zoom-lock switch keeps the lens secure when not in use.
  • 9-blade rounded diaphragm opening makes out-of-focus elements blend together smoothly.
  • SWM (Silent Wave Motor) for fast, whisper-quiet autofocus.
 
 
Last but not least some Neural Density Filters.
I’ve been researching this for a while. After reading too many reviews I’ve settled on Cokin ND Filters both Graduated and Full ND because they seem to deliver and they are wallet friendly too.
I will be going for the square filters with adaptors.
Items II’ll probably start with the filters first.
Cokin Full ND Filter
xxPamelaxx
3 thoughts on “Items I’d like to add to my kit

  1. Just to let you know, from experience the Cokin ND filters leave a purple cast or tinge to your photographs, especially when used for longer exposures (10s +) or when stacked with two or three filters. The cast can be removed with software like Aperture, Photoshop or even the GIMP, but it’s a pain. Some people have said put the filters on and shoot a custom white balance, but I’ve not tried this yet so can’t comment on its effectiveness.
    Not to put you off, just don’t be disappointed if you get the Cokin system. If I knew about this when I was buying my ND filters, I personally wouldn’t have gone for the Cokin system and would have saved up a few more pennies for a more expensive filter; I’m a great believer of ‘get it right in camera’. Still, I know how to manage the colour now and they do allow me to take longer exposures.
    Good luck!

  2. Thank you for your comment Phil.
    I’ve never used ND Filters before and I thought it would be good to start with cheaper ND filters. That’s why I chose the Cokin. At the moment the Lee ND filters are way out of my budget. Unless I am sure that I will make good use of them then I won’t purchase the Lee.

    Have you used any of the Cokin ND filters with a Polarising Filters?

Leave a Reply

